Birds nor toil nor spin…

I’ve never read much poetry. I liked it when my son would recite “The Village Blacksmith.” But I thought I might should try it. I asked a friend and co-laborer for a recommendation, and I’ve started through a Garrison Keillor collection he suggested…too quickly, I’m sure.

But today, as I contemplated the swirling of events and my role therein, I looked out my kitchen window…and thoughts of my Loving and Pardoning God came to mind…

It’s a first effort…

With darkened thoughts I go to my kitchen
To make a cup of tea.
A glance out the window draws behind a longer gaze
At the gathered birds.
The birds who gaily storm my feeders:
One hanging on a clothesline,
A tray of seed open on the ground.

To darkened thoughts of turmoil and failure,
Real and imagined,
I must add the thought that the Father-Who-Feeds-Birds,
Birds neither toiling nor spinning…
That Father, my Father, feeds these birds as well.

And He uses me to do it.

This entry was posted in My Father, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

