Table Meditation: December 8, 2013…

But He answered and said, “It is not good to take the children’s bread and throw it to the little dogs.”

And she said, “Yes, Lord, yet even the little dogs eat the crumbs which fall from their masters’ table.”

This woman…I hope and trust that a day will come when I will get to meet this woman…that a woman, albeit from this cradle of evil who says “O Lord, Son of David, have mercy on me”…Her faith is complete. And she has great faith, Jesus tells us…like the centurion. “Amen, I say to you, I have not found such great faith, not even in Israel” Jesus says.

I have a suspicion that my faith may not be as great as theirs. But I also have a confidence…that the fact that my faith is not as great as theirs…that I have a Master, a Lord, an Elder Brother who sits at the head of the table…whose faithfulness…what He has done for us…carries us regardless of the fact that our faith might not be…however you might want to say it…’equal’ to theirs.

Because we are among the children.

And Jesus, our Lord, Master and King, and our Brother, set a Table. He doesn’t say…”Pick up the crumbs,” but “It’s a feast! And you recline at table with Abraham, and Isaac, and Jacob.” And it points to that day when there will be a wedding feast for all eternity on this earth.

And not only that, but for all those times when we are in there with Peter and the word “LittleFaith” is the one that…like being in a Bunyan book and having a tag on you that says “I am LittleFaith.” He gives it as a sacrament, a sign that points on to something above, to strengthen our faith, and a seal that we wear that says we’re His.

The children who sit at the Table.

Paul writes this…

For I received from the Lord that which I also delivered to you: that the Lord Jesus on the same night in which He was betrayed took bread; and when He had given thanks, He broke it and said, “Take, eat; this is My body which is broken for you; do this in remembrance of Me.” In the same manner He also took the cup after supper, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in My blood. This do, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of Me.”

For as often as you eat this bread and drink this cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death till He comes.

You proclaim that my Lord…my Master…my Brother…my Savior…has set this Table. He has called me to come to the feast.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

