Best Passages…

Last week I drove to Tuscaloosa and back (18 hours each way). For the trip I acquired an unabridged audiobook of J.R.R. Tolkein’s The Hobbit. Having listened to all of it once on the way out and most of it on the return, I think that this may be the most powerful passage in the book, from Bilbo’s first trip into Smaug’s lair…

It was at this point that Bilbo stopped. Going on from there was the bravest thing he ever did. The tremendous things that happened afterwards were as nothing compared to it. He fought the real battle in the tunnel alone, before he ever saw the vast danger that lay in wait.

This entry was posted in Best Passages, Tolkien. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Best Passages…

  1. Doug Roorda says:

    Tom, I’ve got some driving in my future; can you point me to this to purchase somewhere?

    Blessings,
    Doug Roorda

  2. Doug Roorda says:

    Thanks Tom. Was it the Inglis reading? (http://www.downpour.com/the-hobbit-1)

    BTW, I see the initial offer but the downpour.com site is not showing the $6.95 offer when I get there. I’ve sent them an email but if there’s something obvious I’m missing feel free to clear up my mystery. Otherwise I’ll just wait for a response from them.

    Thanks,
    doug

    • Tom Brainerd says:

      Yes, it was the Inglis reading. I don’t in fact, know that there is another.

      The offer might just show up when you get into checkout…I don’t remember.

      If you are going to be doing a lot of driving, I think that Audible.come (Amazon) might still be offering a book a month for three months at less than $8. I don’t think there is a minimum time commitment. I saw the Downpour offer and took it.

  3. Doug Roorda says:

    Found the link, just in the middle of the page. It just takes me longer.

Leave a Reply

