Table Meditation: January 21, 2103…

Our Father in heaven,
Hallowed be Your name.
Your kingdom come.
Your will be done
On earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgive us our debts,
As we forgive our debtors.

There is making its way around the internet now, and has been for several months this story. There’s this Spanish runner who is running in a world class event. He is, I think, running behind a Kenyan, and the Kenyan stops about ten yards short of the finish line…he thinks he has already crossed it. And the Spanish runner pushes him, so the Kenyan can come in first. The Spanish runner won’t go past him.
It’s a great story…except for one thing. The primary thing the Spanish runner said was…’I thought I should have gotten more credit for that.’

Think about what our Lord Jesus Christ did. He descended from heaven; He speaks of Himself as the one who has come down from heaven. And what a coming down that would be, right? The eternal Lord of Glory, who gets to become a cell, and then two cells, and then four cells, and grow in the womb of a virgin. He gets to be born, and no doubt lay screaming His brains out in a manger. Who suffered all the pains and frustrations of this life, Who had many debtors He no doubt forgave over the course of it.

And then, saying to His Father…”Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven.” Well, Yahweh’s will was done on earth, because there had to be the sacrifice of all sacrifices. And, indeed, He suffered, was crucified, dead and buried…and finally risen.

And you know the one thing He doesn’t say? He doesn’t say ‘I should have gotten more credit for that.’ He certainly should have. His credit should be out there in the world. But His Father gave Him a church. And He doesn’t say…’give me more credit.’ He says “Let Me set a table for you. Come eat with me. I have done everything that is necessary for you to be able to say ‘Forgive us our debts,’ because I have paid the one debt that mattered, for you. That infinite debt your father Adam gave you, and you just added to…I have paid it all.”

Day by day, week by week, month by month, year by year…your sins do not surprise your Savior. Do you understand that? That doesn’t mean that day by day you don’t have to go and say “Forgive us our debts.” As I pray for the debts of Christ’s whole church, my debts are rolled up in there. I am praying for my debts and everyone else’s. As King Agur says, ‘don’t make me rich so I forget You because I get fat.’ We get on our knees every day and say “Forgive us our debts” so we remember what He’s done.

And then we come here, to the Table. And He tells you “Look at the sweetness, the savor of what I have done for you. It’s glorious!

Paul writes this…

For I received from the Lord that which I also delivered to you: that the Lord Jesus on the same night in which He was betrayed took bread; and when He had given thanks, He broke it and said, “Take, eat; this is My body which is broken for you; do this in remembrance of Me.” In the same manner He also took the cup after supper, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in My blood. This do, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of Me.”

For as often as you eat this bread and drink this cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death till He comes.

Brothers and sisters in Christ, you proclaim that when you go to your Father and say “Forgive us our debts”…just like it says in Matthew, “your Father knows the things you have need of before you ask Him.”

And thanks be to God!

This entry was posted in Table Meditations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

